Veganism is a way of living that aims to minimize the use and consumption of animal products in everyday life, especially in terms of diet (1Trusted Source).
People who follow a vegan diet avoid eating animal products, including dairy, eggs, meat, fish, poultry, and honey (2Trusted Source).
Sometimes following a vegan diet can be challenging due to the possibility of some foods containing animal-derived ingredients. One common ingredient that many new vegans wonder about is lactic acid.
This article reviews whether lactic acid is vegan, as well as its uses and food sources.
Many people assume that lactic acid comes from animal products because the first word in the term sounds similar to lactose, a sugar naturally found in cow’s milk and dairy products. Adding to the confusion, the prefix “lac-” is Latin for “milk.”
However, lactic acid is not milk, nor does it contain milk. It’s an organic acid that naturally forms when certain foods or bacteria go through the process of fermentation.
In addition to being created through fermentation, lactic acid can be man-made and is sometimes added as a preservative and flavoring to packaged foods (3Trusted Source)…